How to Factory Reset an iPhone

How to Factory Reset an iPhone

A factory reset returns your iPhone to the condition it was in when it left the factory, wiping out all of your data. In this post, we’ll show you how to perform a factory reset on any iPhone model running iOS 12 or later, as well as how to disable iCloud and Find My iPhone, which is required before performing a factory reset in some cases.

To recover your iPhone Back up your data first, then disable iCloud and Find My iPhone. Then, to return your iPhone to its original state, follow these steps:

How to Factory Reset an iPhone

  • Go to the Settings tab.
  • Scroll to the bottom of the page and select General.
  • Reset may be found at the bottom of the page.
  • Tap Erase All Content and Settings on the Reset screen.
  • Three iOS screens show General, Reset, and Erase All Content and Settings links.
  • Enter the passcode you selected on your phone if asked.
  • The screen displays a warning that all music, other media, data, and settings will be erased. Tap Erase to continue.
  • Everything on the iPhone can be deleted in a few minutes. The iPhone will restart after the operation is completed, and it will be reset to factory settings.

Before you begin factory resetting, make a backup of your data.

Before you begin factory reset, make a backup of your data. When you factory reset an iPhone, all of the data on it is erased. That means all of your music, apps, contacts, images, and other data on the device would be lost. Only the iOS and the pre-installed apps will remain.

That’s why backing up your data before performing a factory reset is critical. Keeping a copy of your data allows you to restore it from a backup later if something goes wrong.

To back up data, you have three options: iTunes, Finder, or iCloud.

Backup to iTunes.
To back up to iTunes, connect your phone to your computer, then go to the main iPhone screen and click the Back up button.

Back up Using Finder
Plug the iPhone into the computer, open a Finder window, choose the iPhone in the left-hand Devices menu, and back up on a Mac running macOS Catalina 10.15 or newer.

Back up your data to iCloud.
To back up to iCloud, go to Settings > [your name] (you can skip this step if you’re using an older version of iOS) > iCloud > iCloud Backup, and then start a backup.

Disable iCloud & Find My iPhone Before Factory Resetting

It’s also vital to disable iCloud and Find My iPhone while factory resetting your iPhone. If you want to reset the phone, it has a security mechanism called Activation Lock that needs you to input the Apple ID you used to set it up. When you switch off iCloud/Find My iPhone, the feature is disabled.

Activation Lock has helped to prevent iPhone thefts by making it more difficult to use a stolen iPhone. If you don’t turn off Activation Lock, the next person who obtains your iPhone—whether it’s a buyer or a repairman—will be unable to use it.

Go to the Settings tab.

Tap your name (skip this step on earlier versions of the iOS).

Select iCloud > Find My iPhone > Find My iPhone from the drop-down menu. (On iOS 13 and later, bypass iCloud and tap Find My instead.)

Three iOS screens showing Name link, iCloud button, and Find My iPhone button

The Find My iPhone slider should be set to off/white.

To go back to one screen, tap Find My in the top left corner. Then tap Apple ID to return to the previous screen.

Sign out by scrolling to the bottom of the screen.

Enter your Apple ID/iCloud password if required.

Conclusion

Having read this article we strongly believe that you now have in-depth knowledge on how to factory reset an iPhone. Thanks for reading and keep sharing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.